Texas Window Tinting Laws
It’s no secret that Texas can get hot! Fortunately, window film can help keep drivers comfortable while protecting their skin from the sun’s damaging UV rays.
Though window film has many benefits, it also can cause problems for drivers if it’s too dark. Before you have tint installed on your car, truck or SUV, it’s important that you understand Texas’ window tinting laws. In fact, the legality of your window tint is one of the items checked during your vehicle’s annual safety inspection.
For this reason, it’s important to work with a reputable window film installer who offers quality products like 3M. Your installer should place a small sticker between the film and your driver’s side window to certify its legality.
Navigating Texas Window Tint Laws
According to International Window Film Association, Texas window tinting laws state that window film can be applied above the manufacturer’s AS-1 line or 5 inches below the top of your windshield.
When measured in combination with the glass, this film must have a light transmittance value of 25 percent or less and must have a luminous reflectance value of 25 percent or less. You’re also allowed to have clear or un-tinted UV-blocking film installed below the AS-1 line.
Any film on your front-seat windows must also allow in at least 25 percent of light, while being no more than 25 percent reflective. There are no rules regarding the back-seat windows.
Vehicles with dual-side mirrors can have tint of any darkness on their rear windows, while ones without dual-side mirrors cannot have tint that blocks more than 25 percent of light or is more than 25 percent reflective.
Driver’s who have certain medical conditions that may require additional UV protection can apply for an exemption, which allows for darker tint. Taxis, buses, limousines and law enforcement vehicles are automatically exempt from these rules.
Contact Accent Distributing and we can put you in touch with a local 3M Authorized Dealer near you.