Tennessee Window Tinting Laws
There are several great reasons to have window tint installed on your vehicle, from enhancing interior comfort to protecting your skin from the sun’s damaging UV rays. Tinting your windows can cause problems, however, if the film is too dark.
That’s why it’s important to have your tint job done by a reputable window film dealer. All 3M dealers receive special training on the company’s products and installation processes. A 3M dealer will also be able to ensure that your film fits Tennessee’s window tinting laws.
Navigating Tennessee Tinting Laws
According to the International Window Film Association, in Tennessee, cars, SUVs and vans can have non-reflective window tint above the manufacturer’s AS-1 line on the windshield.
For cars, any film installed on the front-seat, back-seat or rear windows must allow in at least 35 percent of light.
For SUVs and vans, film installed on the front-seat windows must allow in at least 35 percent of light. On the back-seat and rear windows, there is no restriction as to how much light can be let inside.
Your window tint installer will need to place a sticker between the film and your driver’s-side window to show that the product meets the state’s legal requirements.
No specific window tint colors are prohibited, and Tennessee’s laws allow certain motorists to apply for exemptions if they have medical conditions that cause sensitivity to ultraviolet light.
Unless you have an exemption, it’s important to make your widow film follows the state’s rules. Fines for violating Tennessee’s window tinting laws typically run between $130 to $300.
Contact Accent Distributing today to be put in touch with a 3M Authorized Dealer near you.