• Sarasota Office: (941) 922-5268

    Houston Office: (713) 956-1165

  • Sarasota Office: (941) 922-5268

    Houston Office: (713) 956-1165

    Blog

  • Mississippi Window Tinting Laws

     In Automotive

    It gets sunny and hot down here in Mississippi. Staying cool inside your car is just one of many great reasons to add window film to your vehicle. If you get your windows tinted, however, make sure it’s done right. Choose experienced window film installers who offer products within Mississippi’s legal automotive tinting limits. Tint that’s too dark or metallic could result in a heavy fine.

    According to the International Window Film Association, below is a breakdown of Mississippi’s window tinting laws:

    For cars…

    • On your windshield, you can have non-reflective tint of any shade above your manufacturer’s AS-1 line only.
    • Tint on your front and back windows must allow in more than 28 percent of visible light and it cannot be more than 20 percent reflective.
    • Film on your rear window must also allow in more than 28 percent of visible light.

    For SUVs and Vans…

    • Non-reflective tint of any shade is allowed only above your manufacturer’s AS-1 line on your windshield.
    • Tint on your front windows must allow in more than 28 percent of visible light and it cannot be more than 20 percent reflective.
    • On your back windows, you can have film of any darkness, but it cannot be more than 20 percent reflective.
    • Your rear window can have non-reflective tint of any shade.

    Your window film installer will put stickers between your windows and the tint to signify that it’s within Mississippi’s legal limits.

    Accent Distributing can connect you with a 3M Authorized Dealer near you.

     

     

    Recent Posts