• Sarasota Office: (941) 922-5268

    Houston Office: (713) 956-1165

  • Sarasota Office: (941) 922-5268

    Houston Office: (713) 956-1165

    Blog

  • Louisiana Window Tint Laws

     In Automotive

    Interested in adding window film to your car, but not sure where to start? Your first stop should be a reputable tint shop. All authorized 3M window film dealers, for example, are required to undergo installation and product training.

    It’s important that your tint job is done right the first time, not just for aesthetic reasons but also because having the wrong tint on your car’s windows can be illegal. You don’t want to end up with a ticket for having dark tint on your windows.

    According to the International Window Film Association, in Louisiana, a car or sedan may have:

    • Non-reflective tint above the AS-1 line on the windshield
    • Window film that allows in at least 40 percent of visible light and is not more than 20 percent reflective on the front windows
    • Window film that allows in at least 25 percent of visible light and is not more than 20 percent reflective on the back windows
    • Window film that allows in at least 12 percent of visible light on the rear window

    An SUV or van may have:

    • Non-reflective tint above the AS-1 line on the windshield
    • Window film that allows in at least 40 percent of visible light and is not more than 20 percent reflective on the front windows
    • Window film of any darkness that is not more than 20 percent reflective on the back windows
    • Window film of any darkness on the rear window

    The state also requires that the installer place a sticker on your driver’s side window, underneath the film, signifying the your tint job is legal.

    Failing to abide by Louisiana’s window tint laws can cost you. On first offense, the penalty is $150, on second it’s $250 and for all subsequent offenses its $350.

    Speak to an expert. Accent Distributing can connect you with a 3M Authorized Dealer in your community.

    Recent Posts