Georgia Window Tint Laws
Before you get your car tinted, it’s important that you understand Georgia’s automotive window film laws. They’re meant to keep motorists safe and if you fail to follow them, you could get a ticket.
According to the International Window Film Association, here’s a breakdown of what you need to know:
- For both cars and SUVs, you can have non-reflective window tint on the top six inches of your windshield only.
- For cars, all film on your front seat, back seat and rear windows must allow in at least 32 percent of visible light.
- For SUVs, film on your front seat windows must allow in at least 32 percent of visible light, while you can have film of any darkness on your back seat and rear windows.
- For both cars and SUVs, reflective film can be used on the back seat and rear windows only and it cannot be more than 20 percent reflective.
Certain exemptions are available for medical reasons or for commercial vehicles.
It’s important you follow Georgia’s window tint laws because failure to do so can result in a fine of up to $500. Make sure you visit a credible window tint dealer who is familiar with the state’s film laws.
Accent Distributing can connect you with a 3M Authorized Dealer in your community.