Florida Window Tint Laws
Window film can keep you feeling cool in the hot Florida sun, but there’s nothing cool about getting a ticket. For that reason, it’s important to follow Florida’s window tint laws.
According to the International Window Film Association, for cars:
- On the windshield, you can only have non-reflective tint above the manufacturers AS-1 line.
- Any tint on your front windows must allow in at least 28 percent of visible light and it can’t be more than 25 percent reflective.
- Film on your back windows must allow in at least 15 percent of visible light and cannot be more than 35 percent reflective.
- On your rear window, tint must allow in at least 15 percent of visible light.
When it comes to vans and SUVs, there’s just one difference. Tint of any shade can be applied to your back or rear windows as long as darker shades begin at least 6 inches from the top of the window. It’s also important to note that all vehicles with tinted rear windows are required to have dual side mirrors.
Your Florida window film installer will need to put a sticker on your driver’s-side doorjamb signifying that your tint is legal, so make sure to get it done at a reputable shop.
Accent Distributing can put you in touch with a 3M Authorized Dealer in your community.