• Sarasota Office: (941) 922-5268

    Houston Office: (713) 956-1165

  • Sarasota Office: (941) 922-5268

    Houston Office: (713) 956-1165

    Blog

  • Alabama Window Tinting Laws

     In Automotive

    Window film can keep your car looking and feeling cool, but there’s nothing cool about paying a $100 fine for violating Alabama window tinting regulations. In 1996, Alabama created a law regulating window tint on passenger cars, trucks, vans and SUVs. Here is a breakdown of what you need to know.

    On cars and station wagons:

    • Only the top 6 inches of your front windshield may be tinted.
    • Wide and back windows may have tint, but it must allow at least 32 percent light transmission and 3 percent tolerance.
    • Tinting materials may not reflect more than 20 percent of light.

    On trucks, vans and SUVs:

    • Only the top 6 inches of your front windshield may be tinted.
    • Darker tint is allowed on the back window. It must comply with manufacturer standards and federal law.
    • Outside rear view mirrors are required on both sides of the vehicle (not just the driver’s side) if darker tint is installed.

    Though it’s uncommon, it is possible to get a medical waiver if you require darker tint due to a condition.

    For most people, it’s pretty difficult to tell exactly what percentage of light is passing through your windows. For that reason, it’s important to go to a trustworthy tint shop that understands Alabama window tinting regulations.

    If you’re serious about rejecting the sun’s heat, consider adding 3M™ Automotive Window Film Crystalline Series to your vehicle. It’s available in a variety of shades, including virtually clear. The film can reject up to 60 percent of solar heat and block up to 97 percent of infrared light. It’s the perfect option for the warm Alabama summer. Learn more about 3M™ Automotive Window Film.

    Work with an expert. Accent Distributing can connect you with a 3M™ Authorized Dealer in your community.

    Recent Posts